UPSC convenes SCM on Thursday to decide on induction of J&K’s local officers in IPS

Srinagar, Jul 27: The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) has scheduled a selection committee meeting (SCM) on Thursday here to prepare a list of local officers for their induction in the Indian Police Service (IPS).

Sources said that the SCM would be chaired by UPSC member Dr. T.C. Anant.

J&K’s chief secretary Dr. Arun Kumar Mehta, Principal Secretary Home Shaleen Kabra and Director General of Police Dilbagh Singh would represent UT in the meeting.  Two senior officials of MHA are also expected to attend the meeting.

According to sources, the SCM would decide on induction of local officers – both serving and retired – in IPS.

“It is the prerogative of SCM to decide on retirees. The maximum number of retirees that can be considered could be 11 and minimum it could be three to four,” they said.

The 1999- batch JKPS officers figuring at the top of seniority list would also be considered for promotion.

Those figuring at the top of seniority list are Shakti Kumar Pathak, Dr. Haseeb Mughal , Javid Ahmed Koul, Ramesh Kumar Bhat, Sheikh Junaid Mehmood, Shahid Mehraj Rather, Dr. Ajeet Singh, Altaf Ahmed Khan, Haseeb-Ur-Rehman, Vikas Gupta ,Abdul Qayoom, Nisha Nathyal, Maqsood-ul-Zaman, Javid Iqbal Matoo, Mubassir Latifi Ameer, Shiv Kumar Sharma and Suhail Munawar Mir.

The proposal for induction of local officers in IPS was submitted by the J&K government to the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) in May last year after MHA determined 28 vacancies.

The MHA had determined eight vacancies for 2010, three for 2011, eight for 2012 and nine for 2013.

Later, the MHA had determined 13 more vacancies for the period between 2014 to 2019 procedure.

The selection committee scrutinizes the records/ ACRs and other details of local officers thoroughly and as per the provisions of Regulation 5(4) of the promotions Regulations.

According to rules, the committee records its recommendations in the shape of ‘Minutes’ which are signed by each member and the chairperson.

These minutes are first sent to the State government concerned which in turn forward these to the central Government after its concurrence. The central Government also examines the minutes and conveys its concurrence to the UPSC. Finally, these are placed before the Commission. The Commission conveys its approval to the Central Government which is the cadre controlling authority for the Indian Police Service. Subsequently, the MHA issues notification for induction of officers in IPS.  kno

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.