NC-Congress alliance registers huge win in LAHDC-Kargil polls

Srinagar, Oct 07: The National Conference (NC) and Congress alliance have won 22 seats while BJP managed to win just 2 in the all important LAHDC-Kargil elections, which were held on October 04 and counting was held today, officials said.

Officials said that counting of votes began at 8 am today for the fifth Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council (LAHDC)-Kargil election.

The election on October 4, which saw a triangular contest among the National Conference, Congress and the BJP in most of the 26 seats, is the first key poll in Kargil after the abrogation of Article 370 and the creation of Ladakh Union Territory by the Centre on August 5, 2019.

Officials said that NC-Congress alliance won 22 said while BJP managed to win just 2 seat and 2 seats were bagged by independent candidates. Of the 26 seats, NC managed to win 12 seats, Congress 10, while BJP and independents managed to win 2 seats each.

The election recorded a polling of 77.61% as out of the total 95,388 voters, 74,026 exercised their right of franchise.

The existing council headed by NC’s Feroz Ahmad Khan completed its five-year term on October 1. The new council will be in place before October 11. The council has 30 seats out of which elections were held on 26 seats, while four councillors with voting rights are nominated by the administration.

The NC and Congress had announced a pre-poll alliance but have put up 17 and 22 candidates, respectively. Both parties said the arrangement was restricted to areas where there was a tough contest with the BJP.

The BJP, which won one seat in the last election and later took its tally to three with the joining of two PDP councillors, had fielded 17 candidates this time. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) tried its luck from four seats while 25 independents were also in the fray.

Electronic voting machines (EVMs) were used for the first time for the council elections which took place at 278 polling stations across the district.

The elections to LAHDC-Kargil was rescheduled from September 10 to October 4 on the directions of the Supreme Court which took serious note of the UT administration denying the “plough” symbol to NC candidates.

Holding that the NC was entitled to its symbol, the Supreme Court dismissed the Ladakh administration’s plea on the issue and also imposed Rs 1 lakh fine on it. kns

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.