MMU condemns assault of Muslim women in India

file pic

Srinagar, Feb 17: Muttahida Majlis-e-Ulema (MMU) comprising leaders of all  religious, milli, educational and social associations and institutions of J&K, in a statement said that it strongly resents and condemns the repeated assault and targeting of Muslim women in India .

In a statement, MMU said that whether it is the deplorable and derogatory online campaign the Sulli and Bulli deals against Muslim women or the attempt to keep them away from education by disallowing them to wear the hijab to colleges and schools, as in Karnataka, Muslim women in India are being repeatedly targeted and intimidated.

This seems to be a deliberate attempt by the right wing Hindu segment to spread sectarian poison in India, which is extremely unfortunate, with the minorities especially Muslims, being  at the receiving end it . This sectarianism is fueled by prejudice and hatred, it said

The statement said that while India claims to be secular Republic,  governed by a constitution with allows  adherents of all religions to follow their own religious beliefs and customs, yet from time to time issues are created and steps taken which are a clear interference in the Personal Law and beliefs of Muslims citizens of India. The hijab controversy is a part of that mindset, it said.

The statement said that the slogan of “Beti Bachaao Beti Padhaao” completely rings hollow in the face of such prejudice.

MMU urged the authorities that like before Muslim girls wearing hijabs should be allowed to pursue their education in schools and colleges without hindrance,   and the miscreants restrained from their disruptive activities.

MMU that that the Muslims of J& K stand with the brave girls of Karnataka who are boldly striving for their fundamental right to education and right to practice religion.

The organisations which are part of the Muttahida Majlis-e-Ulema include Anjuman Auqaf Jama Masjid, Darul Uloom Raheemiyah , Jamaith Ahli Hadees , Mufti Azam’s Muslim Personal Law Board Anjuman-e-Shari’a Shiaan, Karwani Islami, Ittihadul Muslimeen, Darul Uloom Bilalia, Anjuman Tableegul Islam, Anjuman Himayaul Islam, Anjuman Nusratul Islam, Anjuman Mazharul Haq, Jamiat ul Aima Wa Ulema, Anjuman Imam Wa Mashaikh Kashmir, Darul Uloom Naqshbandia, Darul Uloom Rasheediya, Ahlul Bayt Foundation, Madrasa Kanz Ul Uloom, Pervaan-e-Wilayat, Auqaf Islamia, Muhammadi Trust, Anjuman Anwar ul Islam, Kaarvaan e Khatm e Naboowat and others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.