Updated: Five CRPF men, militant killed, SHO among five forces personnel injured in Anantnag

Civilian also sustains injury

Srinagar:The death toll of CRPF personnel in militant attack at Anantnag mounted to five as two more bodies of paramilitary men were found near the site of attack on Wednesday late evening.

A police officer said that the bodies of the two CRPF personnel were retrieved near the site of the attack at KP road near the Oxford school after sanitizing the area.

Earlier, Three paramilitary troopers and a militant were killed and five other government forces personnel including Station House Officer (SHO) were injured critically after militants attacked a joint party of CRPF and police at KP road in South Kashmir’s Anantnag district on Wednesday.

According to witnesses militants opened fire upon the joint naka party of police and CRPF near Oxford School at KP road today at around 04:55 pm.

The fire was retaliated by the joint team triggering off a brief shootout, they said.

In the incident, five CRPF men and SHO Police Station Sadder Inspector Irshad Ahmad suffered bullet injuries. Besides, a woman also sustained a bullet wound in her leg.

The injured were immediately taken to district for treatment where three CRPF men including an ASI of CRPF namely Vinod Sharma succumbed to injuries, they said.


Medical Superintendent District Hospital Anantnag Dr Abdul Majeed Mehrib told a news agency GNS that they have received five CRPF men, SHO Irshad and a woman with bullet wounds.

Medical Superintendent said that among the injured three CRPF men succumbed while Irshad (SHO) and two other CRPF men were referred to Srinagar hospital for specialized treatment.

Soon after the attack, the whole area has been cordoned off by the additional reinforcement of police, SOG, army and CRPF.

A police officer also confirmed the attack and said that they are verifying further details.

He said that the operation is underway in the area to nab the assailants.

The officer identified the slain CRPF personnel as ASi Neeru Sharma, Constable Santinder Kumar, Constable M K Kushwa, ASI Ramesh Kumar, Constable Mahesh Kumar. (GNS)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.