Voter turnout dips, 10.32% recorded in Kulgam  

Picture: Jehangeer Shah

Srinagar: The voter turnout dipped in the second leg of the 3-phased election to Anantnag parliamentary constituency on Monday with Kulgam recording 10.32 percent on Monday.

Polling started at 7 a.m. and ended at 4 p.m. in Kulgam comprising of four assembly segments of Noorabad, Homeshalibugh, Kulgam, and Devsar.

Giving the breakup of the polling, Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) J&K, Shailendra Kumar informed on Monday said Noorabad recorded 20.58%, Kulgam 1.72%, Homshalibug 1.14% and Devsar 16.84%.  He said that 1818 migrants also voted. The overall voting percentage was 10.32%, he said.

He said that for the smooth polling across the district, 433 polling stations were set up out of which 20 were model polling stations. Moreover, 4 all women polling stations were also set up across the district.

Divulging the details of the voter turnout in the district, the CEO informed that the total number of votes polled was 35524 with the highest turnout of 20.58 percent recorded in Noorabad segment of the district. With the completion of the today’s phase, the overall poll percentage of Anantnag constituency has touched 12.35 percent.

Over 3.45 lakh electors were entitled to vote in the Kulgam district of them include 179,607 males, 164,604 females, 1262 service electors (1254 male and eight female) and 13 transgender.

There are 18 candidates in the fray that include Hasnain Masoodi of National Conference, Sofi Yousuf of Bhartiya Janta Party, Ghulam Ahmad Mir of Indian National Congress, Mehbooba Mufti of Jammu Kashmir People’s Democratic Party, Nisar Ahmad Wani of Jammu & Kashmir National Panthers Party, Choudhary Zaffar Ali of Jammu Kashmir People’s Conference, Sanjay Kumar Dhar of Manav Adhikar Party, Surinder Singh of Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party (Lohia) and Imtiyaz Ahmad Rather, Ridwana Sanam, Riyaz Ahmad Bhat, Zubair Masoodi, Shams Khwaja, Ali Muhammad Wani, Gh Muhammad Wani, Kayser Ahmed Sheikh, Manzoor Ahmad Khan and Mirza Sajad Hussain Beigh, all independents.

Kulgam Assembly segment had the highest number of 98,298 voters (51,051 males, 46,818 females, 455 service voters and 4 transgender voters) while as Noorabad had the lowest 77,171 electors, including 40,093 males, 36,886 females, 188 service voters and 4 transgender voters.

Assembly segment of Devsar had 91288 voters (47467 males, 43324 females, 492 service voters and five transgender voters), and HS Bugh segment had 78669 voters (40996 males, 37576 females and 127 service voters).

The Anantnag district of the Lok Sabha constituency went to polls in the third phase on April 23 recording 13.6 per cent polling.   The Pulwama and Shopian districts are going to polls on May 6.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.