Pakistan shall respond to Indian aggression at time, place of its choosing: Qureshi

Srinagar: Prime Minister Imran Khan on Tuesday convened a special meeting of the National Security Committee (NSC) to review the emerging situation in the wake of the Indian Air Force’s (IAF) violation of the Line of Control.

The committee, according to a statement issued after the meeting, “strongly rejected Indian claim of targeting an alleged terrorist camp near Balakot as well as the claim of heavy casualties,” Dawn reported.

“Once again Indian government has resorted to a self-serving, reckless and fictitious claim,” the statement said. “This action has been done for domestic consumption being in election environment, putting regional peace and stability at grave risk.

“The claimed area of strike is open for the world to see the facts on ground. For this domestic and international media is being taken to the impact site. Forum concluded that India has committed uncalled for aggression to which Pakistan shall respond at the time and place of its choosing.”

The prime minister, as per the statement, has directed that elements of national power, including the armed forces and the people of Pakistan to remain prepared for all eventualities.

“He [Prime Minister Khan] decided to engage with global leadership to expose irresponsible Indian policy in the region,” the statement reads.

The prime minister also “appreciated timely and effective response of the Pakistan Air Force to repulse Indian attempt without any loss of life or property”.

Prime Minister Khan has also summoned a special meeting of the National Command Authority (NCA) on Wednesday.

The NCA is the apex civilian-led command headed by the prime minister to oversee the policy formulation, exercises, deployment, research and development, and operational command and control of the country’s nuclear arsenals.

The NSC meeting was attended by Chairman Joint Chiefs of Staff Committee General Zubair Mahmood Hayat, Chief of the Army Staff (COAS) Gen Qamar Javed Bajwa, Chief of the Naval Staff Admiral Zafar Mahmood Abbasi, Chief of the Air Staff Air Chief Marshal Mujahid Anwar Khan and other military and civilian officials, including cabinet members.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.