JeI demands unconditional release of political prisoners

Srinagar: Jama’at-e-Islami (Jammu and Kashmir) has expressed solidarity with all political prisoners who are “languishing in various jails only because of their commitment to the just cause of right to self-determination of the oppressed people of Jammu and Kashmir”.

In a statement issued to the press, the JeI spokesperson Zahid Ali said that “The government of India has failed in fulfilling its promises made to the people of Jammu and Kashmir.”

The JeI spokesperson alleged that New Delhi is “suppressing the genuine voice of the oppressed people and people raising voice for political and human rights are being declared an ‘anti-national’ and a ‘threat to the security of the state’.”

Demanding unconditional release of all Kashmiri prisoners, the JeI sais that “many Kashmiris have been arrested under false charges”.

“Unjustified and brutal force is used to suppress people’s voice through implementation of various black laws while the forces have been given unbridled powers,” the statement said.

Quoting Zahid Ali, the statement said that “a number of detainees have been shifted to the Jammu jails in the scorching heat as a retributive measure” which include Dr. Mohammad Qasim Faktoo, Dr. Mohammad Shafi Shariati, Maqsood Ahmad Bhat, Muhammad Amin Dar, Ghulam Qadir Bhat, Muhammad Ayub Dar, Nazir Ahmad Sheikh, Ghulam Muhammad Bhat, Barkat Ali Khan, Muhammad Iqbal Khan, Muhammad Sadiq , Feroz Ahmad, Muhammad Aslam, Sheikh Imran, Muhammad Saeed Bhat, Fayaz Ahmad Shah, Showkat Ahmad Khan, Muhammad Akeel Wani, Gul Muhammad Khan, Mushtaq Ahmad Khan, Muhammad Hussain Malik, Muhammad Amin Wani, Muhammad Ishaq Palla, Mushtaq Ahmad Malla, Shabir Ahmad Bhat, Abdul Ahad Naik, Manzoor Ahmad Bhat, Nasir Mirza, Bilal Kata, Latif Ahmad Waza, Danish Mushtaq, Showkat Ahmad Vakil, Nisar Ahamd Ganaie and Rayees Ahmad Mir.”

“Others languishing in jails include Bashir Ahmad Lone, Ameer-e- Zil’a Srinagar and Gulzar Ahmad of Islamabad while some are in Tihar jail, Delhi, which include Shabir Shah, Altaf Ahmad Shah, Shahid-ul-Islam, Ayaz Akbar, Mehraj ud din Kalwal, Peer Saif ullah etc.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.