Election commission announces poll dates for 5 states going for polls

Srinagar, Jan 08: The Election Commission of India on Saturday announced dates for Assembly elections in five states including Uttar Pradesh, Goa, Manipur, Punjab, and Uttarakhand and stated that the five states will vote over seven phases starting February 10, with counting of votes scheduled for March 10.

Reports said that Uttar Pradesh will vote in each of the seven phases on February 10, February 14, February 20, February 23, February 27, March 3, and March 7.

They said that Punjab, Goa, and Uttarakhand will vote on February 14 and Manipur will vote in two phases on February 27 March 3.

As per the reports, a total of 690 Assembly constituencies will vote over the next two months, with the maximum in UP (403 seats) followed by Punjab (117), Uttarakhand (70), Manipur (60) and Goa (40).

Meanwhile, Election Commission said that the holding of timely election is the essence of maintaining democratic governance, while clarifying its decision to go ahead with elections in five states amid a sweeping third wave of Covid driven by the Omicron variant.

The Commission said that to ensure safety amid surge in Covid-19 cases, physical rallies and meetings till January 15 have been banned. kns

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.