‘We reject the humiliation served by Delhi on August 5, 2019’: PC says after it convened its first-ever meeting

Srinagar, Oct 06: People’s Conference (PC) on Tuesday termed the decisions taken on August 5, 2019 as “unconscionable act” of betrayal with the people of Jammu and Kashmir and avowed that party will carry out its relentless struggle for the people of Jammu and Kashmir.

According to a statement , PC convened a first-ever meeting of its senior leaders after August 5, 2019 where in the prevalent political situation was discussed thoroughly. The meeting termed August 5, 2019 decisions as “unconscionable act” of betrayal of the people of Jammu and Kashmir.

“We reject the humiliation served by Delhi on August 5. Their move was spiteful and meant to humiliate us. They have treated the Kashmiri’s very unfairly. It is our unanimous decision that the party will relentlessly struggle for the people of J&K”, party spokesperson in a statement said.

He further said that all leaders expressed full confidence in the power of a collective mechanism to espouse the cause of the people of Jammu and Kashmir.

“They however felt that the collective mechanism should have an organizational form and structure. The leaders expressed their full confidence in the Chairman of the party to participate and put forward the viewpoint of the party”.

The leaders, in the meeting, also expressed deep concern over the intimidation of the journalistic fraternity while pointing out that the journalists are caught in a vicious cross fire.

“The state leaves no stone unturned to intimidate and harass them. Latest press reports suggest that non-state actors have jumped into the fray and started intimidating and threatening language. The leaders condemned any form of coercion overt or covert against the journalistic fraternity which must be allowed to do their jobs without fear of reprisal”, spokesperson said.

The meeting was presided over by Party Chairman Sajad Gani Lone and was attended by Senior VP Abdul Gani Vakil, General Secretary Imran Ansari, Abid Ansari, Bashir Dar, Mohammad Abbas, Raja Aijaz, Iran Panditpori, Irfan Ansari and Adnan Ashraf Mir.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.