Kashmir Editors Guild led alliance wins maiden KPC elections, Shuja-ul-Haq elected President

Kashmir Editors Guild led alliance on Monday won the maiden elections of the Kashmir Press Club.

Except the President’s post that was won by Shuja-ul-Haq, an electronic media journalist all the other positions including the Executive Member positions were won by the Kashmir Editors Guild Alliance.

Shuja defeated Haroon Shah of the KEG by just one vote.

Moazum Muhammad, the Vice President candidate of the Guild won the elections by defeating two other candidates Wasim Khalid and Syed Tajamul.

Shuja got 92 of the 231 votes while Shah polled 91 votes. The other candidate, Zulfikar Majid, got 46 votes.

Ishfaq Tantray, another candidate of the KEG alliance was elected as General Secretary and Farooq Khan of the same alliance was elected Treasurer of the club.

252 journalists were eligible to cast their vote but 231 voted for four posts and a seven-member executive committee.

The seven executive members who emerged winners include Habib Naqash, Arshid Hussain, Shafat Kirra, Nisar Bhat, Gowhar Geelani, Auqib Javeed, and Altaf Baba, all part of the KEG alliance.

Kashmir Editors Guild is a top body Kashmir based newspaper owners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.