Imran Khan elected 22nd PaK PM

Srinagar: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf chairman Imran Khan was on Friday elected 22nd Prime Minister of Pakistan as he defeated his closest rival Shahbaz Shareef the Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz) leader after the Speaker national assembly Asad Qaiser announced the results, reported Pakistan’s national English daily “Dawn”.
Imran Khan secured 176 votes against 96 votes secured by his opponent, PML-N’s Shahbaz Sharif in the polling that took place in the National Assembly on Friday.

Imran Khan’s will now take oath as 22nd Prime Minister of Pakistan tomorrow on Saturday. The former cricketer was tipped as the ‘PM-in-waiting’ soon after the July 25 polls in which PTI won more seats than other political parties.
The newly elected members of the National Assembly finished casting their votes for the two contenders in the running for the Prime Minister’s post: Imran Khan and Shahbaz Sharif

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.