LAHDC polls: J&K BJP announces first list of candidates

LAHDC polls: J&K BJP announces first list of candidates

Jammu:  The Jammu and Kashmir unit of BJP on Thursday announced first list of candidates for the prestigious Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council (LAHDC) elections.

The nominations opened for elections to all 26 seats of the LAHDC Kargil. The candidates can file nomination papers till August 8.

Scrutiny of the nominations will take place on August 9 while candidates can withdraw their nomination papers till August 11. Polling will be held from 8 am to 4 pm on August 27 and counting will take place on August 31. Entire election process for the Council will be completed by September 5.

Meanwhile BJP state president Ravinder Raina announced the names of the candidates in the meeting attended by former Dy CM Kavinder Gupta, State vice-presidents Harinder Gupta, Pawan Khajuria, State General Secretary (Org) Ashok Kaul, State General Secretaries Dr Narinder Singh, Yudhvir Sethi, State President BJP Mahila Morcha Rajni Sethi and MLC Vibhodh Gupta.

Mr Raina asked all the senior leaders to formulate decisive strategy to assure win in the prestigious LAHDC elections.

He said that the Kargil residents have welcomed the party with open arms and said that the public welfare schemes and policies by the popular Prime Minister Narendra Modi have touched the lives of the people even in the remotest region and the people are going to vote en-mass in the favour of BJP.

The list of candidates announced in the first phase, for ten seats, after detailed discussion on 26 seats included Bilal Ahmad from Bhimbhat (Drass), Stanzin Tarpoo from Shargole, Haji Mohd. Qassim from Kargil town, Sadiq Ali from Baroo, Mohd. Hassan from Poyen, Mohammad Ali Majaz from Choskore, Haji Mohd. Ishaq from Trespone, Nargis Khatoon from Chuliskambo, Mohd. Salman from Chiktan, Padma Dorjay from Stakchay Khangral.

Mr Raina will declare the names of candidates for the remaining seats in 2nd Phase in Kargil after having discussions with committee members Tsering Dorjey and Choudhary Vikram Randhawa.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.