Delimitation Commission Arrives On 4- Day Visit To J&K On July 6

Political parties except PDP nominate representatives to meet commission at Grand Lalit

Srinagar, July 5: The Delimitation Commission headed by Justice (Retd) Ranjana Prakash Desai is arriving in Jammu and Kashmir on a 4-day visit on July 6 for firsthand information and input concerning the redrawing boundaries of assembly constituencies in the J&K.

The decision in this regard was taken by the Delimitation Commission under the Chairpersonship of the former Supreme Court Judge Ranjana Prakash Desai in the presence of Sushil Chandra, Chief Election Commissioner last week.

“The Delimitation Commission has decided to visit the Union Territory of Jammu & Kashmir from 6th July, 2021 (Tuesday) to 9th July, 2021 (Friday),” reads the statement issued after the meeting by the Commision last week, first after the APM chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

“During this period, the Commission will interact with political parties, public representatives and Union Territory administration officials including District Election Officers/ Deputy Commissioners of 20 districts of the Union Territory to gather first hand information and input concerning the on-going process of delimitation as mandated under the Jammu & Kashmir Reorganization Act, 2019,” reads the statement.

The Delimitation Commission was constituted in March 2020 and its term was extended by another year in March 2021 in view of the ongoing pandemic. Third Member of the Commission is the State Election Commissioner of Jammu & Kashmir. The Commission also has five Associate Members nominated by the Speaker, Lok Sabha.

The Commission already had series of meetings related to data and map of the Districts and Constituencies related to census 2011.

Sources said that the commission will arrive in Srinagar in the afternoon and will meet different political parties to hold deliberations with them over the ongoing process of delimitation in Jammu and Kashmir.

They said that the commission will meet the delegations including representatives of political parties at Grand Lalit in Srinagar from 3:30 pm to 6:30 pm.

Meanwhile, political parties have nominated several senior party leader and members to meet the commission and put forth their point of view vis-a-vid delimitation exercise in the UT.

As per details available, National Conference has nominated, Abdul Raheem Rather, Mohammad Shafi, Mian Altaf Ahmad, Nasir Aslam Wani and Sakina Ittoo

From Panthers Party, Syed Masood Andrabi, Manzoor Ahmad Naik, Hakikat Singh Jamwal, Farooq Ahmad Dar and Hakeem Arif Ali as their representatives to meet the commission.

Jammu and Kashmir People’s Conference have nominated BashirAhmad Dar, Mansoor Hussain Soharwardy, Mohammad Khurshid Alam and Mohammad Ashraf Mir as their representatives.

J&K Apni party has nominated Ghulam Hassan Mir, Zaffar lqbal Manhas, Usman Majid, Rafi Ahmad Mir and Mohammad Ashraf Mir, while the Congress have nominated GA. Mir, Peerzada Mohd Sayeed, Taj MohiUDin, Bashir Ahmad Magrey, Surinder Singh Channi and Vinod Koul as theri representatives.

The BJP has nominated Sofi Yusuf, GM Mir, Surinder Ambardar and Altaf Thakur as their representatives.

Among other parties, which are going to meet the commission include BSP, CPI, CPI-M and National Panthers Party.

Notably, People’s Democratic Party, one of the largest and main political parties of Jammu and Kashmir has not nominated any member to meet the delimitation commission tomorrow in Srinagar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.