LS polls: Voting begins for Ist phase, 10 candidates in fray for Baramulla seat

Srinagar: Polling for the first phase of Lok Sabha elections started for the Baramulla seat on Thursday morning.

Unprecedented security arrangements have been put in place by the authorities and the election commission, to ensure peaceful polls.

Picture: Jehangeer Shah

The polling started at 7AM and will culminate at 6 PM later today.

Reports said that people in large number are coming forward to cast their vote to their favorite candidate in parts of Baramulla since morning. 

Pertinently PDP’S Abdul Qayoom Wani, Raja Aijaz Ali of People’s Conference, Akbar Lone of National Conference, Er Rasheed as Independent, BJP’s M. M War, Najeeb Naqvi as Independent, Farooq Ahmed Mir for Congress, Jehangir Khan NPP, Javeed Ahmed Qureshi as Independent, Abdul Rashid Sheikh are contesting Lok Sabha elections for Baramulla seat.

Meanwhile Hurriyat in a statement had called for complete shutdown in valley today.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.