Farooq Abdullah to contest from Srinagar, Akbar Lone from Baramulla parliamentary seats: NC

Srinagar: Former Chief Minister Farooq Abdullah and Mohammad Akbar Lone will contest from Srinagar-Budgam and Baramulla Parliamentary constituencies, respectively, the National Conference (NC) announced on Monday evening.

According to an NC Spokesperson, the NC Parliamentary Board met under the chairmanship of party president Dr Abdullah here, at the party headquarters.

The board members were unanimously of the opinion that the party should contest all six Parliamentary constituencies.

The board authorised it’s president to take the final decision on any coalition with secular forces, taking into account the national political situation.

Dr Abdullah represents the Srinagar seat in the present House, while Baramulla is represented by the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Names of the candidates for other constituencies will be finalised in the next meeting, he said.
Former Chief Minister and NC Vice President Omar Abdullah had announced on Friday that the NC will contest all three seats from Kashmir and there will be no compromise.

However, according to sources, Congress wants Anantnag seat, leaving two seats in Kashmir and one seat in Jammu for NC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.