NC to boycott inauguration of new parliament building on May 28

Srinagar, May 25: The National Conference Thursday said that it will boycott the inauguration of new parliament building in New Delhi on May 28 after several opposition parties decided to opt out of the ceremony over not inviting the President for the inauguration.

Member Parliament from south Kashmir Hasnain Masoodi said that they have decided to boycott the opening of the new parliament building by PM Modi on May 28.

He said that the decision has been taken in line with other opposition parties who have decided to boycott the inauguration ceremony.

A total of 21 opposition parties, including the Congress have announced a boycott of the inauguration of the new Parliament building. They have said that Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s decision to inaugurate the building without President Droupadi Murmu “insults the high office of the President, and violates the letter and spirit of the Constitution”.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla inaugurate the new Parliament building on May 28.

PM Modi laid the foundation stone of the new Parliament Building on December 10, 2020. It has been built in record time with quality construction. (KNS)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.