Delimitation Committee Proposes 6 Seats For Jammu, 1 For Kashmir

Reserves 15 Seats For Constituencies For Scheduled Castes, Scheduled Tribes

Srinagar, Dec 20: The Delimitation Commission on Jammu and Kashmir has proposed six additional assembly seats for Jammu region and one for Kashmir while reserving 16 constituencies for Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes.

“Today, the Delimitation Commission under the Chairmanship of Justice (Retd.) Mrs. Ranjana Prakash Desai in the august presence of Chief Election Commissioner, State Election Commissioner, Union Territory of Jammu & Kashmir met all the five Associate Members viz. Dr Farooq Abdullah, MP, DrJitendra Singh, MP Mohammad Akbar Lone, MP, Hasnain Masoodi, MP, Jugal Kishore Sharma, MP and in its second meeting with Associate Members for the purposes of delimitation of assembly constituencies in the Union Territory of Jammu & Kashmir. First such meeting was held on 18th February, 2021.

The Chief Electoral Officer, Union Territory of Jammu & Kashmir was also attended the meeting,” reads a statement by ECI.

“Chairperson welcomed the Associate Members for coming forward for the meeting and hoped that this meeting would help in carrying out the work of delimitation smoothly.”

Chief Election Commissioner in his remark shared the experiences of the Commission of interacting with people in Jammu & Kashmir during its visit, it reads further.

“He emphasized that the work of delimitation is being carried out within the overall statutory framework and keeping the interest of common people of the Union Territory of Jammu & Kashmir. He highlighted Section 9(1)(a) of the Delimitation Act, 2002 read with Section 60(2)(b) of the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019, which specifies that all constituencies shall, as far as practicable, be geographically compact areas, and regard shall be had to physical features, existing boundaries of administrative units, facilities of communication and public conveniences.”

It said that associate members “appreciated” the fact that this Commission visited the Jammu & Kashmir and met “large number of people in person”. “They assured that all necessary assistance would be extended in the work of delimitation. “

Chandra Bhushan Kumar, Senior Deputy Election Commissioner gave detail presentation on the work done. He informed that in the Union Territory, since last delimitation, number of districts has increased from 12 to 20 and number of tehsils from 52 to 207.

“ The population density in the districts of the Union Territory varies from 29 persons per square km in Kishtwar to 3436 persons per square km in Srinagar. In the Union Territory, the administration has been allocating compensatory allowance to government officials working in the specific areas on grounds of remoteness of the place, its inaccessibility, severe inclement weather conditions, its remaining cut off from the rest of the State (now Union Territory) for a period of time, lack and gross inadequacy of medical, educational, residential and other basic amenities of life, its health hazards and similar other rigorous conditions of living,” it reads further, adding, “The Union Territory shares international boundary and in those locations, the inhabitants are forced to take shelter, intermittently, in bunkers due to continued inhospitable and uncertain living conditions.”

Thereafter, the statement said that the Commission explained that taking all these into account, the Delimitation Commission has categorized all 20 districts in three broad categories A, B and C giving margin of +/- 10% of average population per Assembly Constituency (AC), while proposing allocation of the constituencies to the districts, the statement reads further.

“The Commission has also, for some districts, proposed carving out of an additional Constituency to balance the representation for geographical areas having inadequate communication and lack of public conveniences due to their excessive remoteness or inhospitable conditions on the international border,” it said, adding, “For the first time, in Jammu and Kashmir, 9 (Nine) seats are proposed to be allocated for Scheduled Tribes out of 90 seats on the basis of population. Seven seats are proposed for Scheduled Castes.”

The Commission shared Paper – I describing the proposed seat allocation at the level of districts with all the Members with the request to furnish their views/comments/suggestions by 31.12.2021, it added.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.