DDC polls: Former ministers, ex-MLAs join electoral fray

Representational Picture 

Srinagar, Nov 25: A number of former ministers and legislators in Jammu & Kashmir have also joined electoral fray for becoming members of the district development councils, as elections for Legislative Assembly of the Union Territory seems nowhere in sight.

Details reveal that former minister and Congress leader Taj Mohiuddin has joined electoral battleground from Parenpillan, Uri in north Kashmir’s Baramulla district.

Taj, who served minister in PDP-Congress and NC Congress government between 2002 to 2014 before losing out to NC’s Muhammad Shafi Uri, is locked in electoral battle against Showkat Ali Khan of Peoples Alliance for Gupkar Declaration(PAGD), a grand alliance of seven parties comprising National Conference, Peoples Conference, Peoples Democratic Party and others.

Former MLA Sangrama Shoiab Nabi Lone is fighting the polls from Sangrama territorial constituency of Baramulla DDC.

Shoiab, who won 2006 by-poll from Sangrama segment after assisnation of his father Dr. Ghulam Nabi Lone, is contesting polls on ticket of Apni Party.

Shoiab is facing tough competition from independent candidate Irfan Hafiz Lone and Suhail Bukhari of PAGD.

Irfan, a TV panelist and social activist, has been vocal for restoration of Jammu & Kashmir’s special status after August 5, 2019.

Former Minister of BJP Shakti Raj Parihar and MLA Bharat Bushan are contesting polls respectively from Gundana (Doda) and Bhalwal (Jammu).

Former MLA Kathua Charanjit Singh, who joined BJP in 2019, quit the party few days ago to join fray as an independent candidate from his native area.

In Rajouri district, former minister Shabir Khan and ex-MLA Choudhary Muhammad Akram are contesting polls on ticket of Congress.

Former NC MLC, Shenaz Ganie is also contesting election as an independent candidate from her native Poonch district.

Two former ministers and an ex-MLA have also joined electoral battleground in Reasi district of Jammu province.

Former ministers, Abdul Gani Malik, Ejaz Khan and ex-MLA Mumtaz Khan are fighting polls from different seats in Reasi district of Jammu—(KNO)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.