NC sweeps Kashmir, wins all parliamentary constituencies

Srinagar: Jammu and Kashmir National Conference has swept the recently held Lok Sabha polls in Kashmir valley winning all the three parliamentary seats including Srinagar, Anantnag and Baramulla.

The party’s Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency candidate Dr Farooq Abdullah secured more than half of the votes polled and he defeated PDP’s Agha Mohsin and PC’s Irfan Ansari.

In Baramulla, Party’s candidate Akbar Lone has won the polls.

Giving a surprise, the party’s Anantnag parliamentary constituency candidate Hasnain Masoodi defeated former CM Mehbooba Mufti. Mehbooba was third in the race while the second slot was secured by Congress’s GA Mir.

The election was seen as her last attempt to salvage her party which ruled the state by joining hands with BJP and oversaw the turbulent times in valley following killing of HM commander Burhan Wani. She continues to draw flak from cross-section of society for her coffee and milk remarks.

In Kupwara the Sajad Lone led Peoples conference had fielded Raja Aijaz Ali, banking on his vote bank, however he could not defeat the NC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.