Lok Sabha Polls: 2.56 per cent voters cast votes in Anantnag till 10 am

Srinagar: 2.56 percent registered voters have exercised their franchise till 10 am in district Anantnag in the first phase of three phased elections for Anantnag parliamentary seat.

Heavy deployment of Central Armed Police Force (CAPF) and state police has been made to secure the polling stations.

Around 714 polling stations set up for 5,23,566 voters in six polling segments of Bijbehara, Pahalgam, Shangus, Anantnag, Kokernag and Dooru.

Officials said that Kokernag recorded a turnout of 2.56 %, Dooru 1.49 %, Shangus 1.53 %, Anantnag 1.00 %, Bijbehara  1.00 %, and Pahalgam recorded 1.90 %  till 10 am.

Mehbooba Mufti, the Peoples Democratic Party President, Ghulam Ahmed Mir, state President of the Congress, Justice (Retired) Hasnain Masoodi of the National Conference, Sofi Yusuf of the Bharatiya Janata Party, Chowdhury Zafar Ali of the People’s Conference are in the fray in this constituency.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.