Srinagar: Last year, WhatsApp introduced ‘Delete for everyone’ feature through which a sender can delete a sent message in any conversation. The time limit to use this feature was 7 minutes earlier, which was later increased to 1 hour 8 minutes and 16 seconds. Now, WhatsApp is going to roll out another update to this feature.
Now, WhatsApp has added a Recipient limit on ‘Delete for everyone’ feature. According to this, if the recipient does not receive the delete request for the message in 13 hours, 8 minutes, and 16 seconds, the message will not be deleted.
This means that if you send a message to your friend and then you want to delete the message in the conversation, the message will not be deleted even after you have tapped on ‘Delete for Everyone’, if your friend does not receive the delete request in the above mentioned time. WhatsApp is adding the recipient limit feature so that users cannot delete older delivered messages which they could do by tweaking mobile system settings.
The update is intended to be a protection against modded users (users using modified version of WhatsApp) who revoke messages sent weeks, months and years ago. WhatsApp wants to ensure that these modified versions are unable to manipulate time by deleting messages which are too old.