New Governors appointed for Odisha, Mizoram

Kerala state BJP chief Kummanam Rajasekharan and former Haryana BJP chief Prof Ganeshi Lal were, on Friday, appointed Governors of Mizoram and Odisha respectively.

Rajasekharan’s appointment comes in the wake of sitting Mizoram Governor Nirbhay Sharma’s term coming to an end on May 28.

Sixty-five-year-old Rajasekharan, who began his political career as an RSS member, was actively involved with Hindu Aikyavedi and Vishwa Hindu Parishad. In 2015, he was appointed as the head of Kerala BJP.

“The President of India has been pleased to appoint Prof. Ganeshi Lal to be the Governor of Odisha with effect from the date he assumes charge of his office, a Rashtrapati Bhavan communique said.

His tenure will be effective from the date he assumes charge of his office, a statement released by the Centre said.

Earlier, Ganeshi Lal was the state president of BJP Haryana unit. He was BJP MLA from Sirsa.

President Ram Nath Kovind had given Bihar Governor Satya Pal Malik (72) additional charge of Odisha after completion of five years tenure of Governor SC Jamir.

Jamir’s term ended on March 21.  (UNI)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.