Yeddyurappa resigns without facing the trust vote

The Chief Minister of Karnataka B.S. Yeddyurappa announced his on resignation on Saturday after remaining the head of the state for a period of three days.

The government collapsed today on May 19, after the chief minister resigned without facing the trust vote.

The Supreme Court on May 18 had ordered a floor test in the Karnataka Assembly at 4 p.m. on May 19, drastically slashing the 15-day time lapse given by Governor Vajubhai Vala to Mr. Yeddyurappa to prove his majority.

“I am going to resign as chief minister…. I will go to Raj Bhavan and submit my resignation.

“I will not face confidence vote… I am going to resign,” he told the Assembly after a brief emotional speech.

Mr. Yeddyurappa said he would now “go to the people”.

His resignation will pave the way for formation of a government led by JD(S) State chief H.D. Kumaraswamy, who has the backing of the Congress. The newly formed alliance has claimed support of 117 MLAs in the 224-member House with an effectively strength of 221.

Polling for two seats was not held due to various reasons, while Mr. Kumaraswamy won from two places.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.