By winning 104 seats, BJP emerges as a single largest party

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has emerged as the single largest party by winning 104 seats in the May 12 election held for 222 seats to the Karnataka Assembly.

While the ruling Congress has to be satisfied with 78 seats, the regional party JD(S) by winning 38 seats as emerged as king maker and has staked claim to form the government as Congress has come forward to extend its unconditional support to prevent BJP from coming to power.

The announcement of result of Hubli-Dharwad Central constituency from where former Chief Minister

Jagadish Shettar was seeking re-election was delayed yesterday as there was anomaly in the VVPAT and EVM tabulation. However, the issue was resolved and Mr Shettar was declared as elected.

Final Party Position: BJP 104, Congress 78, JDS 37, BSP 1, Independent 1, Others 1, Total: 222
In the House of 224 seats, polling to Jayanagar was countermanded following death of BJP candidate and in Rajarajeshwarinagar it was deferred following seizure of large number of Voter ID cards. The Polling is now scheduled for May 28. (UNI)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.